Uncategorized October 31, 2022
Many parents – as well as teenagers – are curious about what age teens can get tattooed or pierced. We know this can be a lot for an ear piercing. Please understand that for the safety of your child, we must determine that the person coming is a parent or guardian and can make legal decisions on behalf of the child. If you have any questions about identification requirements, please do not hesitate to call us. Contact the property ahead of time to discuss what your teen needs to get a tattoo or piercing if you are not present. If you think your teen might be tempted to get body art or body modification, talk about it. Instead of just banning it, learn why your teen is interested in a particular tattoo or piercing. If you`re not comfortable with your teen getting tattooed or pierced, you may be able to opt for another option, such as a henna tattoo or an extra ear piercing. But if you can`t find a compromise and aren`t willing to give in, make sure your teen is informed. Some states have specific rules for the types of piercings. While ear piercing may be legal for a minor, tongue piercing may require parental consent.
If you give your written consent, you may need to document exactly what you are agreeing to. For example, you may need to say which tattoo you agree with your teen and where you allow them to get it. Piercings may require you to document the type and location of the piercing. We offer earlobe piercings for children 8 years and older, limited edition piercings for clients 13 years and older and selected piercings for minors aged 16 to 17 in the presence of a parent or guardian. In accordance with Philadelphia regulations, we are unable to provide piercing services other than earlobe and outer ear cartilage piercings to customers under the age of 16 in our Philadelphia studio, even with parental consent. We are able to provide nostril and septal piercing services to customers ages 13-15 only at our Baltimore location. For all piercing services offered to minors, see below. Almost every state has laws that deal with some aspect of body art.
(Nevada has no laws dealing with body art; Maryland has very limited laws). At least 45 states have laws prohibiting minors from getting tattoos. Thirty-eight states have laws that prohibit piercing and tattooing minors without parental permission. If the legal guardian is not the parent, legal documents (adoption documents, power of attorney granting full guardianship without restrictions, etc.) must be submitted to verify the legal right of the guardian to sign for the minor. Persons under the age of 18 must be accompanied by a parent/guardian and must identify themselves and prove their age and relationship to the guardian in order to be pierced or have jewelry inserted into a piercing. Acceptable identification and proof of age and parentage include: For any piercing or jewelry insertion service for a minor, the minor will need a valid (not expired) government-issued document indicating their date of birth, as well as photo identification. In addition, we require a valid photo ID (not expired) from the parent or guardian proving that they have legal responsibility for the minor. The documents of the minor and the parents must contain the corresponding surnames and addresses. If the surnames and/or addresses do not match, or if no address is given on one or both pieces of identification, we will need the minor`s original birth certificate to prove their relationship to each other. If the adult accompanying the minor is not the parent but the legal guardian, we also need additional guardianship documents.
An appointment is required for earlobe piercings in children aged 8 to 12 years. See the link after the credentials to make an appointment. Learn about the potential risks and talk to your teen about dangers such as infections as well as social consequences. A facial piercing may interfere with their ability to find employment, or a tattoo may limit employment opportunities. If the parent has a different surname and address than the minor, legal documents (birth certificate, marriage certificate, divorce documents, adoption documents, etc.) must be provided to verify the relationship. Please note: We reserve the right to refuse to perform certain piercings on minors and we do not offer bridge piercings, surface piercings or surface anchors, cheek piercings, nipple piercings or genital piercings for customers under the age of 18. Check if the store looks clean. Find out about the professional`s license, training and experience. Don`t be afraid to ask questions before making decisions. You can also ask to watch what happens in the store when someone else gets pierced or tattooed.
Depending on where you live, a minor – someone under the age of 18 – can get tattooed or pierced without your consent. Each state sets its own rules for body art, so you need to know the law in your area. Tattoo and piercing shops are regulated by the government. However, this does not mean that all transactions are equal. It is important to do a little research to ensure that a facility is following proper procedures. Some states do not allow a teenager to get a tattoo or piercing their tongue regardless of parental consent, while other states do not have rules. This means that your teen may be able to enter a salon and get tattooed or pierced without your knowledge. Note: The information on this page is provided for reference purposes for state legislators and legislative staff. If you have a question about tattooing or piercing, please contact your local or state environmental health department. If you have any questions about acceptable identification, please call us before travelling.
We don`t like to reject customers, so we`ll do our best to work with what you have to help you meet our identification requirements. For more information on the rules applicable to piercing and tattoo parlours in Philadelphia, see the Philadelphia Body Art Regulations. As the popularity of body art increases, states are struggling to keep up with new art forms. From tattoos and piercings to subcutaneous implants and body painting, state lawmakers have had to change their body art laws to ensure the activity is performed safely, does not conflict with the activities of other certified professionals (such as dentists or ophthalmologists), and protects minors. [Identification requirements for earlobe piercings for children aged 8 to 12 years are described below in this section.] Earlobes (18, 16 or 14 gauge only) – Minors must be able to verbally consent to piercings and write their name legibly on the release form. Some states require consent forms to be notarized to ensure that guardians are the ones actually filling out the paperwork. If you are not the parent, but the legal guardian of the child, we need official and original documents showing that you have legal responsibility for the child. Most importantly, all documents must be originals or notarized copies of the original. Be prepared to listen to your teen`s opinions and ideas, even if you don`t agree with them. After they present their case, you can share your opinion. 18 years of age or older with appropriate identification A photo ID or a photo from the school-issued yearbook and a birth certificate are acceptable pieces of identification for minors of driving age. Laws change often, so it`s important to be aware of the latest regulations in your state.
Here are the state`s current laws: With information about the options available and the pros and cons of each, your child can make an informed decision. Whether you agree with their choice or not, you can be sure you`ve done your job as a parent by providing advice to your teen. Customers who are at least 18 years of age must present their ID for any services provided by our piercers, including removal or change of jewelry. We need your ID every time you request a procedure, even if you have already shown it on one occasion. For our documentation, we need a valid, unexpired government-issued photo ID. It must be the original; Photocopies are only valid if the copy is certified as a true copy. Unfortunately, not all tattoo artists or piercers respect the law. Some of them may be willing to tattoo your teen or give them a nose ring without your consent. Anyone who breaks the law is likely to face a fine and may lose their license.